My License has been Suspended, what Happens if I am Caught Driving?

The penalties for driving with a suspended license in Salt Lake City can be quite severe, including fines, jail time, and further suspension of your license. Punishments can depend on why your license was suspended in the first place, and how many times you have committed this offense. In any DUR situation, an experienced criminal defense attorney can help minimize your punishment. For specifics to your situation, please call The Ault Firm for a free consultation.

What Is Driving Under Restraint?

Driving when your license has been suspended, revoked, or denied is referred to as Driving under Restraint, or DUR in Utah’s Revised Statutes. This is typically a misdemeanor charge. {If your license was taken away because of an offense related to drugs or alcohol, then the punishment is more severe. The consequences are more severe if your license was taken away because of a crime related to drugs or alcohol. Repeated offenses of DUR can also result in harsher penalties and loss of your license for years. Driving when your license has been suspended, revoked, or denied is referred to as Driving under Restraint, or DUR in Utah’s Revised Statutes. If your license was taken away because of an offense related to drugs or alcohol, then the punishment is more severe.

Restraint Due to Reasons Other than Drugs or Alcohol

As long as your license was taken away for reasons other than drugs or alcohol, the penalties are {harsh but not excessive|not excessive but harsh}. For a first offense, you can face up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $500. If you are convicted of second or more DUR offenses within five years, you not only face fines and possible jail time, but you may be ineligible to regain your Utah driver’s license for three years.

Restraint Due to Drugs or Alcohol

If your license was taken away due to a DUI or similar offense, then the penalties are much more serious. The penalties are much more severe if your license was taken away due to a DUI or similar offense.

For a first DUR offense, you face a minimum of 30 days in jail, though that can be increased to up to one year and a fine between $500 and $1,000.

For second or additional offenses, you can face up to two years in jail (60 days being mandatory) and a fine between $500 and $3,000. {Also, for {a second or subsequent |a subsequent or second} conviction within five years, you may be ineligible for a license for four years.

For a third or subsequent conviction within five years, you may be ineligible for a license for four years. If your license was taken away due to a DUI or similar offense, then the penalties are much more severe.

Arrested for DUR?

Defending against this charge can be difficult, but there are some options. For example, if you can demonstrate that you only drove due to a serious emergency, then the court might not impose mandatory jail time, though you may still have to pay a fine. You might also be able to demonstrate that you did not receive proper notice that your license was revoked or suspended, or that the restraint was due to some clerical or filing error. Driving with a suspended license can have long-term consequences. If you or someone you know has been arrested for DUR, then call The Ault Firm today. Our skilled attorneys know how to handle these cases. If your license was taken away due to a DUI or similar offense, then the penalties are much more serious. Driving with a suspended license is a severe offense that can have long-term consequences.

Compare listings

Compare
Search
Price Range From To
Other Features