DUI

What Should I do if I am Stopped on Suspicion of DUI/DWI?

Maybe you had a family party and had a beer or two and you’re driving back home. You find that you swerved slightly because you look at a text from your wife to see if you’re on your way back yet. Next thing you know you’re being pulled over by an officer. As he starts talking you can sense he’s meaning to charge with DUI or DWI. What do you do next? The last thing you want to do is deal with DUI...

Don’t Drink and Drive in Utah

As I am sure you already know, Utah changed its driving under the influence laws to be impaired at 0.05% rather than 0.08%, which is what it used to be.  But do you know the penalties in Utah for driving under the influence?  According to www.sltrib.com first-timers in Utah, the maximum penalty is a fine of $1,370 and a three-month license suspension.  The statute also states a minimum of 48 hours of...

Have you been Arrested for a DUI During COVID?

We wondered what would happen if someone got arrested for a DUI in Utah during the COVID-19 emergency. With courts shutting down, it may be scary to be arrested and find yourself in jail indefinitely. It may be scary to think if you may be exposed to coronavirus while residing in your cell for so long. There is not much information out there, and the courts are nearly impossible to reach at this time. The...

Understanding Utah’s DUI Laws

If you have ever been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, medications, or illicit drugs, known as a "DUI" in Utah, it's something you may not have anticipated. Individuals who have been charged with these crimes face substantial legal obstacles. As with most crimes, the individuals who have been accused usually feel guilt, remorse, and would like to go back in time if it was possible. An...

A Guide to Field Sobriety Tests

When examining an individual before a potential DUI detainment, police officers might use three standard field sobriety tests. Utah residents who encounter charges for suspected DUI charges undoubtedly wish to understand just how the state approaches these circumstances precisely. Many DUI detainment procedures include several actions consisting of the evaluation of the field sobriety test. However, people...

What happens if I am caught driving on a suspended license?

There are a variety of reasons that a license can be suspended in Utah. This includes charges like driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, giving false information to the Utah Driver's License Division, being found incompetent to operating a vehicle, or an excessive amount of driving violations on your record. Traveling via a vehicle is almost mandatory in terms of holding a job or living a normal...

Can you Refuse a Breathalyzer in Utah?

Let's say you were out on a night on the town with your friends or significant other. Being pulled over on during a DUI checkpoint can be incredibly stressful for those involved. For many people, this may be their first experience with authorities looking for people suspected of driving while intoxicated or (DUI). As you see the lights flashing, you may have doubts about what is taking place and what you...

How to find the Best DUI Attorney

By now, there is a reasonably good chance that you are aware of how severe Utah takes driving under the influence offenses. If you're charged with a DUI violation, it is probably in your best interest to work with a criminal defense law firm. But that is not always enough; when the stakes are high, you want the best DUI attorney you can find. This article will help you learn the steps you can use to...

My License has been Suspended, what Happens if I am Caught Driving?

The penalties for driving with a suspended license in Salt Lake City can be quite severe, including fines, jail time, and further suspension of your license. Punishments can depend on why your license was suspended in the first place, and how many times you have committed this offense. In any DUR situation, an experienced criminal defense attorney can help minimize your punishment. For specifics to your...

Mistakes to Avoid After a DWI Arrest

Utah is one state that is notorious for taking DWI, DUI, or driving under the influence charges seriously. We are a state that is known for harsh punishments for these crimes. Local lawmakers have made their stance known by passing a new, lower blood alcohol content standard. This new measure of 0.05 gives Utah the lowest threshold in the nation. If you have been charged with a DUI, it is a serious crime...

Compare listings

Compare