August 2020

Don’t Drink and Drive in Utah

As I am sure you already know, Utah changed its driving under the influence laws to be impaired at 0.05% rather than 0.08%, which is what it used to be.  But do you know the penalties in Utah for driving under the influence?  According to www.sltrib.com first-timers in Utah, the maximum penalty is a fine of $1,370 and a three-month license suspension.  The statute also states a minimum of 48 hours of...

What is Reckless Driving in Utah?

Most people know and understand that a DUI charge is a severe crime in Utah. It may come as a surprise that reckless driving is a Class B Misdemeanor, which is the same level of offense. This means that you may need legal representation if you have been charged or arrested for reckless driving. Below is a brief write-up about what constitutes reckless driving and the potential punishments that can...

What Could Happen Legally if you get in a Bar Fight?

If you frequent local bars enough in Utah, chances are you may witness a bar fight. When alcohol is involved in the simplest things, misunderstandings can lead to a full-blown physical altercation. This can happen between strangers, or sometimes between co-workers, acquaintances, or even friends. Sometimes these fights end in just a few punches, and security or other patrons can break it up before things...

What Legally Defines a Weapon?

A spoon, a knife, a gun, what do all these things have in common? They can all be used to wound or kill someone. Does this mean that these items (as well as all things that can harm) are weapons? LAWFUL INTERPRETATION OF A WEAPON Under most legislation, a "dangerous weapon" can be described in two categories: A firearm, whether loaded or unloaded; or A knife, bludgeon, or any various other weapons,...

Compare listings

Compare